Charles Spurgeon on the Folly of Worldly Wisdom

He said, “Worldly wisdom, I will try thee. Thou sayest that thou art mighty, that thine intellect is vast and comprehensive, that thine eye is keen, and thou canst find all secrets; now, behold, I try thee; I give thee one great problem to solve. Here is the universe; stars make its canopy, fields and flowers adorn it, and the floods roll o’er its surface; my name is written therein; the invisible things of God may be clearly seen in the things which are made.

Philosophy, I give thee this problem – find me out. Here are my works – find me out. Discover in the wondrous world which I have made, the way to worship me acceptably. I give thee space enough to do it – there are data enough. Behold the clouds, the earth, and the stars. I give thee time enough; I will give thee four thousand years, and I will not interfere; but thou shalt do as thou wilt with thine own world. I will give thee men enough; for I will make great minds and vast, whom thou shalt call lords of the earth; thou shalt have orators, thou shalt have philosophers. Find me out, O reason; find me out, O wisdom; find me out, if thou canst.”

 

Spurgeon, Charles. “Christ Crucified,” Spurgeon’s Sermons. 2004. vol. 1-2. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Books. pgs. 85-86

One response to “Charles Spurgeon on the Folly of Worldly Wisdom

Leave a Reply

