An Invitation to the Gospel of Jesus Christ

Jesus gave the invitation in Matthew 11: “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light” (vv. 28-30). Jesus said this not in His glory, but in humiliation; while He was a lowly servant here on earth 2,000 years ago. ” But supposing the case were such that He who sits in glory were disposed to utter this word, ‘Come to me,’ as though it were an unambiguous invitation to rush straight into the arms of glory – what wonder then if a crowd were to come rushing up!”

It is not an invitation to fancy yourself to “know” Christ; i.e., merely about him and the things He did on this earth. The one who uttered those words was a lowly man, born of a maiden, son of a carpenter, and at the same time declared that He was God. Do not fool yourself! Judge for yourself, also! This lowly man did not have robes of a king or the voice of a poet, and yet He – yes, He! – gave the invitation: “Come to me.” More than that: “All you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”

Even more radically, Jesus caps the claim: “I will give you rest for your souls.” Jesus is able, and the bearing of this truth should create a tension within you even after conversion has set in. Examine yourself – you have the right to do so. Don’t be deceived by others or by yourself, maybe in the belief that you are a Christian when you are not. Look on the heart, and come to know Jesus!

Leave a Reply

